What is NHIF?


NHIF is a social health insurance that covers Kenyans who have attained the age of 18 years and above and their dependants.

Its mandate is to provide medical insurance to its members and their declared beneficiaries.

When was NHIF introduced in Kenya?

NHIF was established in 1966 under the ministry of health and later upgraded to a state parastatal in 1998 under the NHIF act no 9 to ensure Kenyans get affordable, accessible, sustainable and quality health insurance.

NHIF Vision

To be the trusted and valued partner in securing the health of our community.

NHIF Mission

To enhance equitable and sustainable health and wellbeing of our community, cushioning them from financial hardship.

How NHIF works in Kenya

NHIF works by pooling resources from its membership to pay for treatment for those who fall sick.

NHIF generates its revenue from membership. A self-employed person makes a monthly payment of Ksh 500 while those in formal employment are deducted from their gross salary a statutory amount that ranges between Ksh 150 to Ksh 1700 which is remitted to NHIF by their employer.

If an individual or an employer fails to remit the monthly contribution on time, he or she is charged a penalty.

The penalty for a voluntary member is KSh 250 for every month defaulted or paid late, while for an employer is twice the total amount of employee contribution.

The card becomes active after 60 days for a self employed person while for those in formal employment, the card becomes active after 30 days.

Once the account becomes active, a member is free to choose a hospital that he will be treated in the event he falls sick.

READ  How to change NHIF hospital online

Where is NHIF head office located?

It is headquartered at the NHIF building in the Nairobi Upper hill Community area along Ragati Road.

To visit the main office, board a Citi hoppa or KBS buses that ply route 7c at Kencom House stage opposite Hilton Hotel and alight at the stage opposite National Library Kenya.

NHIF working days and hours

Just like all government offices in Kenya, NHIF is open from Monday to Friday from 8.00 am to 5.00 pm.

NHIF customer care contacts

  • NHIF toll free number– 0800 720 601
  • NHIF email address– customercare@nhif.or.ke
  • NHIF Postal address– P.O BOX: 30443 – 00100, Nairobi, Kenya

How many NHIF branches are there in Kenya?

NHIF has 95 branches and satellites office spread across the country and also has a presence in all the 47 huduma centers nationwide.

Below are the different branches, their location and respective contacts.

Nairobi Region NHIF branches

CountyNHIF BranchLocationContact
NairobiBuruburuMesora Centre Mumias Roadburuburu@nhif.or.ke
NairobiEastleighSunrise Shopping Malleastleigh@nhif.or.ke
NairobiIndustrial AreaLiberty Plaza opposite Imara Daima Junction, off Mombasa Roadindustrial@nhif.or.ke
NairobiKangemiPalace Building, 1st floor, opposite Cooperative Bankkangemi@nhif.or.ke
NairobiNairobiNHIF Car Park Building, Ground Floornairobi@nhif.or.ke
NairobiRuarakaICPAK Building near KCA Universityruaraka@nhif.or.ke
NairobiWestlandsBandari Plaza, 1st floor, Woodvale Groovewestalnds@nhif.or.ke

Nairobi Region satellite offices

CountySatellite office LocationAssociated branch
NairobiGikombaSK PlazaSatellite office of Nairobi branch
NairobiKenyattaKNH HospitalSatellite office of Nairobi branch
NairobiMama Lucy Kibaki HospitalMama Lucy Kibaki Hospital, Spine Rd off Kangundo RdSatellite office of Nairobi branch

Riftvalley region NHIF branches

CountyNHIF branchLocationContact
BaringoKabarnetMart Properties Limitedkabarnet@nhif.or.ke
BometBometAggie Plazabomet@nhif.or.ke
BometSotikBureti Tea Growers Sacco Buildingsotik@nhif.or.ke
Elgeyo MarakwetItenBaraka Plazaiten@nhif.or.ke
KerichoKerichoPlaza, 2nd floor, Temple Rdkericho@nhif.or.ke
NakuruNaivashaJubilee Mall, 2nd floornaivasha@nhif.or.ke
NakuruNakuruAFC Building, 1st floor, Kijabe Roadnakuru@nhif.or.ke
NandiKapsabetGrandview Building ground floorkapsabet@nhif.or.ke
NandiNandi HillsPosta Building Ground floornandihills@nhif.or.ke
NarokKilgorisNyasaka Complex Building, Ground Floor, Behind KCB Bank, Along KCB-Kilgoris SDA Churchkilgoris@nhif.or.ke
NarokNarokMaa Towers 1st floor, Nairobi – Bomet Roadnarok@nhif.or.ke
Trans NzoiaKitaleMega Centre, Mezzanine Floor Mazingira Roadkitale@nhif.or.ke
TurkanaLodwarAfricana Buildinglodwar@nhif.or.ke
Uasin GishuEldoretKVDA Plaza, Ground flooreldoret@nhif.or.ke
West PokotKapenguriaKazeto Building, Ground Floorkapenguria@nhif.or.ke

Riftvalley NHIF satellite offices

CountySatellite office LocationAssociated branch
BaringoEldama RavineTandui Building, 2nd  floor Mercy Hospital RoadSatellite office of Kabarnet branch
Elgeyo MarakwetKapsowarSmiph BuildingSatellite office of Iten branch
NakuruGilgilBarclays Bank BuildingSatellite office of Nakuru branch
NakuruMoloCooperative Bank Building, 1st floorSatellite office of Nakuru branch
NakuruOlenguruoneAIC Church Building, Ground floorSatellite office of Nakuru branch
Uasin GishuMTRHMoi Teaching & Referral HospitalSatellite office of Eldoret branch

Western Region NHIF branches

CountyNHIF BranchLocationContact
BungomaBungomaDaimah Plaza -Bungoma-Kanduyi Roadbungoma@nhif.or.ke
BungomaWebuyeBettylyne building, Ground Floor-Moi Avenuewebuye@nhif.or.ke
BusiaBusiaTesla Plaza, 1st  floor Kisumu – Busia Roadbusia@nhif.or.ke
HomabayHomabayCold Springs Building1st Floorhomabay@nhif.or.ke
HomabayMbitaMbita District Hospital, Administration Blockmbita@nhif.or.ke
HomabayOyugisOlando Plaza Ground flooroyugis@nhif.or.ke
KakamegaKakamegaMega Mall, 2nd floorkakamega@nhif.or.ke
KakamegaMumiasBemak House, 2nd  floor off Nabongo Roadmumias@nhif.or.ke
KisiiKisiiThe place 1st  floor, Kisii- Kisumu Roadkisii@nhif.or.ke
KisumuKisumuRe-insurance Plaza, Ground Floor, Oginga Odinga streetkisumu@nhif.or.ke
NyamiraNyamiraSakami House, 1st Floor (main street)nyamira@nhif.or.ke
SiayaSiayaSiala Plaza 1st  floor-court roadsiaya@nhif.or.ke
VihigaVihigaCherry House, Ground floorvihiga@nhif.or.ke
MigoriMigoriAmicus Plaza 2nd  floormigori@nhif.or.ke

Coast region NHIF branches

CountyNHIF BranchLocationContact
KilifiKilifiEquity Building 1st floor, Kwa Charo Wamae Roadkilifi@nhif.or.ke
KilifiMalindiBarani Plaza 1st  floor, South Wing Jomo Kenyatta Roadmalindi@nhif.or.ke
KilifiMarikinaNHIF Office Next to Total Service Stationmariakani@nhif.or.ke
KilifiMtwapaShella Properties Limitedmtwapa@nhif.or.ke
KwaleUkundaAli Mbarak building, Ground floor- Beach roadukunda@nhif.or.ke
LamuLamuOlympic House -Sea front roadlamu@nhif.or.ke
MombasaMombasaJubilee Building Ground floormombasa@nhif.or.ke
Taita TavetaVoiMughonyi Plaza,1st floor,voi@nhif.or.ke
Tana RiverHolaRayaan Complex, Hospital roadhola@nhif.or.ke

Coast satellite office

CountySatellite office LocationAssociated branch
Taita TavetaTavetaTaveta Sub County HospitalSatellite office of Voi branch

Central Region NHIF branches

CountyNHIF BranchLocationContact
EmbuEmbuEastern Emporium, 1st  floor, Kenyatta highwayembu@nhif.or.ke
KiambuKiambuKiambu Mall lower Ground floor, Biashara Streetkiambu@nhif.or.ke
KiambuLimuruNjegi Plaza 3rd floor, Market Streetlimuru@nhif.or.ke
KiambuRuiruCentral Plaza, 2nd floor Ruiru -Githunguri Rdruiru@nhif.or.ke
KiambuThikaNellion Centre, Kenyatta roadthika@nhif.or.ke
KirinyagaKerugoyaUshirika Bank Building, 1st  Floor Kerugoya/Kutus Rdkerugoya@nhif.or.ke
LaikipiaNanyukiLaipha House 2nd  Floor, Laikipia Roadnanyuki@nhif.or.ke
LaikipiaNyahururuKimwa Centre, 1st  floor, Nyeri Nyahururu Highwaynyahururu@nhif.or.ke
MeruMauaMaua Methodist Hospitalmaua@nhif.or.ke
MeruMeruNHIF Building, Tom Mboya Streetmeru@nhif.or.ke
MurangaMurangaArahuka Building 1st  floor, Kenyatta Highwaymuranga@nhif.or.ke
NyandaruaOlKalouBusiness Park Building, 1st floorolkalou@nhif.or.ke
NyeriNyeriLware place, 1st  floor, Kimathi Way, Field Marshall Mutungi rdnyeri@nhif.or.ke
NyeriOthayaNyeri Coop Union Hse, Ground Floor, Othaya -Kiria-ini Rdothaya@nhif.or.ke
Tharaka NithiChukaMombasa House, near Equity Bankchuka@nhif.or.ke

Central region satellite offices

CountySatellite office LocationAssociated branch
KiambuGatunduHumu Rabbi House, Gatundu-Muhara Rd, Opp. Gatundu Law CourtSatellite office of Kiambu branch
KiambuKikuyuCDF Office- next to main bus terminusSatellite office of Limuru branch
KirinyagaMweaDigital Complex (Makutano/Mwea Rd)Satellite office of Kerugoya branch
NyeriKaratinaTrade Center, 1st floorSatellite office of Nyeri branch

Eastern Region NHIF branches

CountyNHIF BranchLocationContact
KajiadoKajiadoHibo House 1st floor, Namanga Rdkajiado@nhif.or.ke
KajiadoKitengelaEPZ Plaza 1st  floor, Kitengela-Namanga Rdkitengela@nhif.or.ke
KajiadoLoitoktokEmparakuoni Plaza, Ground floorloitoktok@nhif.or.ke
KajiadoOngata RongaiMasai Mall 1st floor Magadi Roadrongai@nhif.or.ke
KituiKituiZein Bd, 1st  floor Kilugya Streetkitui@nhif.or.ke
MachakosMachakosKCB 3rd floor Syokimau Roadmachakos@nhif.or.ke
MakueniWoteDouble K Plaza (Punda Road)makueni@nhif.or.ke

Eastern Region satellite offices

CountySatellite office LocationAssociated branch
KituiMutomoAfya Bora Building, Ground FloorSatellite office of Kitui branch
KituiMwingiOsavinya Building, 1st floorSatellite office of Kitui  branch
MachakosKangundoHomeland Plaza Tara-Kangundo RoadSatellite office of Machakos branch
MachakosMasiiPeter Mulei Building Masii –Tawa RoadSatellite office of Machakos branch
MachakosMatuuBidii Textile building -Gatangi roadSatellite office of Machakos branch
MakueniKibweziMohammed Omar Building (Kibwezi road)Satellite office of Wote branch
MakueniMakinduVCT Plaza, 1st  floorSatellite office of Wote branch

North Eastern region NHIF branches

CountyNHIF BranchLocationContact
GarissaGarissaNorthern Site building, Sankuri Roadgarissa@nhif.or.ke
IsioloIsioloIbada Plaza, 1st floorisiolo@nhif.or.ke
ManderaManderaHaji Mohamed Ibrahim buildingmandera@nhif.or.ke
MarsabitMarsabitDadacha housemarsabit@nhif.or.ke
MarsabitMoyaleSherif Guest House, 1st Floormoyale@nhif.or.ke
SamburuMaralalOryx Service Station, Ground Floor, Room 10maralal@nhif.or.ke
WajirWajirNasib House Hospital Roadwajir@nhif.or.ke

North Eastern Region satellite offices

READ  NHIF registration
CountySatellite office LocationAssociated branch
SamburuWambaWamba Mission HospitalSatellite office of Samburu branch

Recent Posts